Come As You Are

Those 4 little words…. COME AS YOU ARE. They are so powerful. I couldn’t help but marinate on what they actually mean. It wasn’t until my early twenties that I realized that God truly wants YOU for who YOU are. I spent so many years always starting over. I would go to church, have a spiritual and life changing experience and be super charged up…. and thennnn I would have one slip up and in my eyes, I was ruined. Not good enough. Not worthy of His love. This is so wrong. He wants us for who we are, the good AND the bad. I don’t think I truly grasped this concept (don’t get me wrong, I’m still a work in progress) until we lost my dad almost 4 years ago. We had so many amazing people, ones we knew and lots that we didn’t, share their favorite things about him. There were so many qualities of his that I was so proud of and admired, but the one that stood out to me the most was his ability to make people feel wanted and special; to let people “come as they are.”  That man could get along with ANYONE: the saint, the sinner, the alcoholic, the priest. He was his true self and that radiated. He didn’t need validation or confirmation from anything or anyone worldly to find his confidence in. He allowed people to be who they were and celebrated in that. A TRUE gift! It has been a goal of mine since then to strive for that, making people feel that can come to me no matter their state. Everyone has their own demons and battles to face, so why not lift others. Use your strengths to help someone else fight their shortcomings. Not judging people for their sins and encouraging them instead. This brings up my concern with our current political situation. It breaks my heart. Why so much hate? Nobody should be pointing their finger because ‘we the people’ are perpetuating it. Why is it so bad that we have different beliefs? Weren’t we created that way? To love, create, work, and think differently. All coming together in ONE way to celebrate our Creator? So, lets think BEFORE we speak, instead of after. Lets have more compassion for the person in the opposite seat as us. Lets pray for peace and unity! Lets come together and make this world the best it can possibly be…showing acceptance and love over rejection and hate!

 

God doesn’t want something from us, He simply wants us.” -C.S. Lewis

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

